About us

About us

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) was established in September 2005 as an independent political advocacy organisation to represent the interests of one of the nation’s fastest growing regions – South East Queensland.

We are Australia’s largest regional local government advocacy organisation, representing the one in seven Australians who call SEQ home.

The membership of the Council of Mayors (SEQ) consists of the 10 South East Queensland (SEQ) councils: Brisbane, Ipswich, Lockyer Valley, Logan, Moreton Bay, Redland, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Sunshine Coast and Toowoomba councils.

With five out of the ten largest Councils in Australia in SEQ, the region is no longer just a series of disparate geographic areas but a region that, in practical terms, functions as a single metropolitan area.

What we do

Advocate for a better resourced SEQ region with world standard infrastructure to support economic development.
Influence other levels of government to ensure that their policy and legislative positions support SEQ regional growth.
Collaborate in effective and innovative cooperative programs across the SEQ region.

Annual Report

The Board