Toowoomba hosts SEQ Mayors

13 / Mar / 2017 | News

The Toowoomba region will play host to the Mayors of South East Queensland (SEQ) as they come together for the Council of Mayors’ (SEQ) first Board Meeting for 2017 and their Annual Strategy meeting.

The SEQ Mayors will experience what makes Toowoomba’s economy one of the strongest and most diversified in Queensland when they gather in the regional centre today for their first Board Meeting of the year.

Starting with a tour of the region’s key sites, such as Brisbane West Wellcamp Airport and the Toowoomba Second Range Crossing worksite, the group will then convene to discuss its current priorities for SEQ. This will be followed by the Council of Mayors’ (SEQ) Annual Strategy meeting on Saturday 11 March.

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Chair Cr Graham Quirk said this regional road trip provided a unique opportunity for the SEQ Mayors to have a closer look at a number of major projects the group has lobbied for in recent years.

“Toowoomba is in the midst of an infrastructure and economic boom so the SEQ Mayors are looking forward to spending some time in the region and learning more about what makes the ‘Garden City’ tick,” said Cr Quirk.

“Attracting investment to SEQ, creating jobs in our communities and exploring ways to drive our regional economy are priorities for the Council of Mayors (SEQ), so Toowoomba provides the perfect host to commence our planning for 2017.”

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Deputy Chair and Toowoomba Mayor Cr Paul Antonio welcomed the opportunity to show his regional counterparts the best of what Toowoomba has to offer.

“Major infrastructure being delivered in the Toowoomba region, such as the Second Range Crossing and the Brisbane West Wellcamp Airport, is creating opportunities for our local communities and the SEQ region as a whole,” said Cr Antonio.

“We’re pretty proud of what we’ve achieved in the Toowoomba region, so I’m looking forward to showing my fellow Mayors why this is a unique and vital part of SEQ.”

The membership of the Council of Mayors (SEQ) consists of the 11 Mayors representing the Councils of SEQ: Brisbane, Ipswich, Logan, Redland, and Gold Coast City Councils and Lockyer Valley, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Toowoomba, Moreton Bay and Sunshine Coast Regional Councils.