Sunshine Coast plays host to first meeting of new look SEQ Mayors

05 / May / 2016 | News

Sunshine Coast Council will host the first Board Meeting and Annual Strategy Workshop of the Council of Mayors (SEQ) since the confirmation of the recent Local Government elections.

The Council of Mayors (SEQ) will meet at Mooloolaba on Friday to welcome three new Mayors to the Board of Directors – Lockyer Valley Mayor Cr Tanya Milligan, Logan City Mayor Cr Luke Smith and Scenic Rim Mayor Cr Greg Christensen.

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Chair Cr Graham Quirk said the Mayors were looking forward to getting on with the job of working together to build a better region for the residents and businesses of SEQ.

“There will be mixed emotions as we come together for the first time since the Local Government elections and the sad passing of our friend and colleague, late Lockyer Valley Mayor Steve Jones,” said Cr Quirk.

“There will be many experienced and familiar faces in the room, as well as the injection of some fresh energy and ideas from our newly elected Mayors. I look forward to working closely with all of the Mayors as we move into an important Federal election campaign for SEQ.”

The first order of business for the 6 May Board Meeting is the confirmation of the Council of Mayors (SEQ) Chair, Deputy Chair, Treasurer and Committee Chairs (Economic Development, Infrastructure and Planning, and Waterways and Environment).

While Sunshine Coast Mayor Cr Mark Jamieson admitted there would be little down time for the SEQ Mayors, he was keen to remind his colleagues of the beauty, diversity and innovation the Sunshine Coast brings to the region.

“This is an important meeting for the Council of Mayors (SEQ) so I am proud to be able to provide such a stunning backdrop for the occasion.

“Although my colleagues are well aware of the positive attributes and achievements of the Sunshine Coast region, this is a fantastic opportunity to play host to my fellow Mayors and show off this spectacular part of SEQ,” said Cr Jamieson.

The membership of the Council of Mayors (SEQ) consists of the 11 Mayors representing the Councils of SEQ: Brisbane, Ipswich, Logan, Redland, and Gold Coast City Councils and Lockyer Valley, Scenic Rim, Somerset, Toowoomba, Moreton Bay and Sunshine Coast Regional Councils.