Scenic Rim Regional Council

Council of Mayors | South East Queensland

Scenic Rim Regional Council

The Scenic Rim region is a thriving rural paradise set in the foothills of the Great Dividing Range and surrounded by world heritage listed national parks. Known for its breathtaking scenery, it is a popular tourist destination offering visitors plenty to see and do.

From its myriad of wineries and art galleries to expansive bushwalking tracks, state of the art equine facilities, growing rural communities and friendly country charm, the Scenic Rim region is a must see destination.

Its main towns are Beaudesert, Boonah, Rathdowney, Kooralbyn, Kalbar, Aratula, Canungra, Tamborine Mountain, Harrisville and Peak Crossing. The region’s primary businesses are agricultural/horticultural production, the equine industry and tourism/ecotourism.

The Scenic Rim region contains more than 30,000 hectares of parkland, including national parks and council controlled parks. The region also contains three dams: Lake Moogerah, Lake Maroon and Wyaralong Dam. Supported by a thriving economy, a farming industry and a vibrant arts community, the Scenic Rim has a strong community spirit and friendly locals

View the website
Mayor Greg Christensen

Mayor Greg Christensen

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Director

Greg Christensen was elected as Mayor of the Scenic Rim in March 2016.

He is committed to delivering strong leadership to the Scenic Rim community to meet the challenges and opportunities presented to the region.

Born and raised in the Scenic Rim at Moorang, his family connection to the region dates back to the 19th Century.

A self-employed business and executive coach, Greg holds a Masters in International Management.

He has enjoyed a lengthy career in executive roles in the fields of agribusiness, mining and manufacturing, including a period as the Director for the Office of Manufacturing in South Australia.

Greg lives at Tarome with his wife of 38 years Denise.