Redland City Council

Council Of Mayors | South East Queensland


Redland City to Port of Brisbane Corridor

Get Directions View More

Redland City Council

Redland City Council in South East Queensland is made up of 537 km²  consisting mainland and island communities. It is located on Moreton Bay and borders Brisbane City, Logan City and the Gold Coast. The Redlands enjoys a relaxed coastal lifestyle, strong community values and outstanding cultural and natural attractions.

The Redlands and its suburban boundaries are relatively new. The Redlands was formed in 1949 from the amalgamation of Cleveland Shire and the northern parts of the Tingalpa Shire. Both these shires date back to the 1880s. Redland’s first mainland suburbs date to the 1850s while the islands have always formed their own natural boundaries.

View the website
Mayor Karen Williams

Mayor Karen Williams

Council of Mayors (SEQ) Treasurer

Karen Williams was elected as Mayor of Redland City Council in April 2012; she was first elected as Division 9 Councillor for Capalaba in 2004.

Karen offers real-world business experience having worked for 10 years in the domestic money market both in Sydney and Brisbane. She also owned and operated two successful retail floral studios in Bulimba and Coorparoo in partnership. Karen also holds a Diploma with the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Karen is dedicated to making sure that Redland City is recognised as the jewel in the crown of South East Queensland with assets including the many island communities such as North Stradbroke Island, Russell Island, Macleay Island, Lamb Island, Karragarra Island and Coochiemudlo Island.

Karen prides herself for her strong, caring and inclusive community focus, for being hard working and getting the job done. Her top priorities are tackling the cost of living issues in Redland City. She is intent on building partnerships to address the backlog of infrastructure – particularly Redlands rural and island communities.